On-Demand: Avoid Hazardous Area Over-Zoning (DSEAR Essentials)

A Hazardous Area Classification (HAC) classifies an operational area based primarily on the likelihood of the presence of a flammable atmosphere (the combination of a fuel in oxidant (typically air)). HAC is a necessary starting point for process risk assessments because without it, you cannot identify potential ignition sources within your hazardous zones.

If your zones are hazardous, then equipment in these zones must be ATEX certified so that the probability of the equipment acting as an effective ignition source is reduced. ATEX equipment is more expensive than regular equipment, so it is important that the correct equipment is purchased for a particular zone. This can only occur if you know if/where your hazardous zones are.

What you’ll learn:

  • How to identify and classify hazardous zones for dusts and gases in your processing operations.
  • How to effectively select equipment via proactive (rather than blanket) zoning to achieve better ROI.
  • How to use zonal information i.e., EPL, Ga or Da, Gb or Db and of Gc or Dc to ensure that the equipment you have selected is suitable for your operations.

This webinar is best for:

  • Technical Managers
  • HSE/EHS Managers
  • Process/Technical/Safety Engineers
  • Process Hazard Analysts
  • EHS Engineers/Coordinators

Register for free

By continuing, you agree to Sigma-HSE’s Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy

General enquiries

Are you visiting Sigma-HSE from outside your region? Visit your regional site for more relevant process safety solutions.
North & South AmericaUK, Europe & Rest of World