On-Demand: How to Classify Non-ATEX Rated Equipment in Hazardous Zones

A Hazardous Area Classification (HAC) addresses ignition hazards, alongside the selection and installation methods of electrical equipment. However, many processes typically include non-electrical equipment such as fans, rotary airlocks, pumps, reactor agitators, screw conveyors and bucket elevators. As this equipment can cause frictional heat or sparks during routine operations or equipment-upset conditions, it is necessary to identify and eliminate these ignition sources.

Equipment in hazardous zones must be suitably ATEX certified. This can be accomplished by purchasing ATEX replacement equipment (certification approach) or as a cheaper alternative, the existing equipment can be re-certified by conducting a NEIRA (risk approach) assessment.

What you’ll learn:

  • How to effectively utilise BS EN / ISO 80079-36
  • How to systematically review potential ignition sources, and assess the likelihood of them becoming an effective ignition source
  • How to improve the safety systems for such non-electrical equipment, e.g. maintenance procedures, temperatures monitoring, earthing, vibrational monitoring

This webinar is best for:

  • Safety Engineers
  • Environmental Health Safety Specialist
  • Risk Engineers
  • Process Engineers and Process Designers
  • EHS Specialists, Managers, Supervisors and Engineers

Register for free

By continuing, you agree to Sigma-HSE’s Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy

General enquiries

Are you visiting Sigma-HSE from outside your region? Visit your regional site for more relevant process safety solutions.
North & South AmericaUK, Europe & Rest of World